1745…The Mini Series

I sometimes get the impression that I am living my life back to front. Things that I am doing in my twilight years should really have been done years ago.

Later this week, I will be making some radio appearances …I have the perfect face for radio. I will be discussing a script “wot I have wrote” as Mr Ernie Wise might have put it. An announcement about production will be made in Inverness later in the month. Nicola Sturgeon the SNP Deputy to Alec Salmond and possibly Caral NI Chulin will be there…and auto correct is not kind to Caral….apologies.

As you might have gathered, this is actually a ten part part mini series on the Jacobite Rebellion of 1745. Originally entitled “Rising” ….it will simply be called “45”. Some scenes will be filmed in the Glens of Antrim, which apparently looks fore like Scotland than Scotland does. And Irish actors will be featured.

It has always been a bit surprising to me that the 1745 Rebellion has never been the subject of a major movie. But the 1963 Culloden docudrama is available in its entirity on YouTube.

I can imagine that my tweedy Jacobite”friends” will have mixed feelings. Bonnie Prince Charlie, the shrunken serial abuser of women, will not be seen in a good light. It is not “shortbread tin history”.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

